Why Disciple Others? by Heather Bryant Tyson


“And what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men who will be able to teach others also.” 2 Timothy 2:2

Are you in a discipleship relationship?  Over the past few years, I have learned so much about discipleship – what it means, what it does and why it is so important! I want to share with you my story about coming into my first ever “real” discipleship relationship. There  were times when I thought I was being lead but it wasn’t the right kind of relationship.

Almost four years ago as I found myself in a horrible spot by my wordly vision – facing divorce, confused on why things were happening to me, wondering how God could bring me through this for good and yearning and longing to just feel His presence, I felt a pull to have a mentor. To have someone that would help to teach me – I could read my bible all I wanted, I could pray a million times a day – those were GOOD, however I just needed my “person.” I prayed through how to determine who was a good person to help me out. How would I know? I spoke to a couple of really Godly ladies, who I trusted dearly and got some great advice. Most notably “you’ll know when it’s the right person.” Guess what? I knew when the time came.

There was a fabulous lady at my church that I “knew” but I didn’t “know” if that makes any sense. I knew her because I saw her face at church, saw her interaction with her family and friends and had heard nothing but wonderful things said about her. More than that, I just had a strong pull towards her. I don’t even know why because I didn’t even “know” her – I didn’t even know her entire story and testimony. Nonetheless, in church one Sunday as the service ended, I felt overwhelmed to go talk to her and I obeyed. Here is how it went. I walked up to her and said hi then blurted out “WILL YOU PLEASE DISCIPLE ME???” She looked at me with a little bit of shock I guess and blurted back “YES, I WOULD LOVE TO!!!!” That was pretty much the extent of our conversation. WEIRD! But I knew it was right.

Over the next almost 4 years I got to meet with this fabulous person who has taught me so much about Jesus. Who has shared joy, laughter and tears with me in my best and worst times. I have had the honor of watching her walk through trials and heartache and mountaintops of joy of her own. I have had the pure privilege of calling her my friend. Not because we started that way, but because we ended that way. She is the kind of mentor and friend that will laugh at my stupidity then set me straight and hold me accountable for my actions. All in love. She is a shining example of what the love of Jesus looks like. Not because she is perfect on her own, but because she knows she is perfect to Him and it is the very fiber of her being.

We all need our person. I encourage you all to seek a godly discipleship relationship with another woman. Someone who will love you through good times and bad and help you grown in Him and equip you to teach others about HIM and to show others HIS love, because that is what we are called to do. If you want to have a lasting effect on our generation – do THIS. Be discipled and disciple! Get poured into and pour out!

In Him,

Heather

Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing your experience! We all need spiritual mothers and fathers.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

