Being Intentional EVERY DAY by Heather Bryant Freeman


 

 

 

Today I am just thankful. Thankful for life. Thankful for grace and mercy. Thankful I know Jesus.

Do you ever wonder how anyone makes it through every day life without Jesus? Think about the worst storm in your life – the most horrid of circumstances you can imagine. What got you through it? For me – only Jesus. So often I wonder how people just simply make it day to day without knowing HIS love for them. And it makes sense why the world is so crazy and bleak sometimes – because people are lost…..and desire acceptance and unconditional love….and they don’t know that the ONLY place they will find it will be with Jesus. Not the concept of Jesus. Not the idea of a savior….but Jesus. The savior.

We had a guest speaker in church Sunday – Danny Egipciaco – he is from Miami and works together with our missions ministry on global outreach. I am so incredibly blessed to go to a church that is dead on with the gospel and the message of grace and moreover one that puts so much emphasis on mission work – both locally and globally. So Sunday Danny is speaking about his calling to share the gospel in Miami and preached about our responsibility to share the gospel. To share the love of Christ. He brought it with his sermon and I loved it. What struck me most was how real he was in saying “I don’t know how we are going to do this. We don’t have enough people. We don’t have the right skill sets. We don’t have a strategy and it’s a big God sized vision. But I’m here and I’m willing.” That’s it folks – plain and simple. Are we willing?  The rest is up to God. We talk and talk and talk about how we trust God and know He has got it under control, but how willing are we? How willing are we to share with those people who are lost – the ones we wonder about making it through any given day without knowing His love for them? It’s our responsibility. I was refreshed Sunday with a willingness to just DO – to stop talking and just DO. I’m so thankful for Danny’s willingness to share and to make a BOLD calling to all of us to go where the Lord leads us. To pay attention to stirring in our hearts and to act. I, for one, want to be used. Here I am. Send me.

So what does that mean? I’m going to be so much more intentional. I talk about Jesus every day. It’s my favorite thing to do! Seriously. At work. With my friends. With my family. In these blogs. On facebook. It’s what I do. But here is what I’m going to do – be more intentional with sharing love with the lost. Every day while I am out, I commit to asking at least one complete stranger if they know Jesus. We should be doing that with EVERYONE and guess what? I don’t. I know, I know, you’ll say “well the time isn’t always right. The circumstances have to be right.” For me, hogwash. The time is now. Pray for me for awareness and intent to start locally sharing with the lost – and I will only know who the lost is if I ask! OR, join me in a challenge to ask one stranger a day if they know Jesus.

Let’s be a light in a dark world. Love them like Jesus.

Heather

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

