My Independence Day


 

 

Today, July 4, 2012, we celebrate our great country and independence and freedom. What a tremendous opportunity we have in the United States of America – to live totally free. The adoption of the Declaration of Independence in 1776 marks when we were set free as a nation – independent  from the Kingdom of Great Britain and set apart.

As we celebrate freedom today, I ask: when were you truly set free? When was your Independence Day? See, In Galatians 5:1, we are told:

“For FREEDOM Christ has set us FREE; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” ESV

This means that Christ has truly freed us – and for freedom for US did He die on the cross – to change our identity. To make us independent from sin and to SET US APART.

I accepted Christ at the tender age of 5. I was in Awana at Community Bible Church, being presented the gospel by my Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Kohl. I remember truly understanding what Jesus had done for ME. I don’t know why it was that night that I actually got it. I don’t know why it was that particular presentation of the gospel that struck a chord with me. Strike that, it wasn’t the presentation of the gospel at all, it was JESUS that struck a chord with me that day. It was my Independence Day. He set me free that day. Since then, I have learned so much more about grace and mercy and love and forgiveness and everything that Jesus encapsulates, but THAT was the day that I was truly set free.

If you are not sure of your freedom, if you don’t feel free – if you don’t think you truly get what Christ did for you on the cross, please email me at hmmfreeman@gmail.com as I would LOVE to talk with you about it. There is no greater joy than to walk in the freedom of Christ.

Celebrate Independence today.

GOD Bless America and every other nation on Earth and everyone in it. HE is love and HE is freedom.

In Him,

Heather

 

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] My Independence Day (gracefullwomen.com) Share this: Pin ItEmailPrintDiggShare on TumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

