My Week Of Relaxing, Renewing, and Romancing by Julie


“Father, Let this be the best vacation we have ever had. Let us make memories we’ll have for a lifetime.” This was my prayer the morning we packed up and left on the 6 hour drive to Myrtle Beach.

After being on hiatus for a few days it’s a little difficult getting back into the swing of REAL life. At the beach hubby and I did everything at OUR own leisure in OUR own time. We got up when we wanted, stayed on the beach as long as we wanted and ate whenever and whatever we wanted. I call this “the week time stood still”. Real life isn’t like that is it?  No, we have other people and responsibilities to consider. But all I wanted was this time away to be special, a time we would never forget, one of our best memories as a couple…. and it was.

The weather at Myrtle Beach was perfect for those of us who tend to melt in the heat. One day was overcast and cool, the next sunny but cool and the last day was a bit hotter but not unbearable like our former trips to the beach. The ocean was almost too cold for hubs and I but we ventured out a few times, but mostly we relaxed in our chairs and soaked in the beauty of the ocean, people watched and listened to books on our Ipods. This is by far the best getaway we’ve had with just the two of us. It was as if we were in our own little world enjoying our surroundings and each other to the fullest extent.

I am thanking God for our time away and the closeness it brought between me and my lifetime sweetheart. Isn’t it just like the Father to bless us with more than we could have imagined? As we left home Monday neither of us expected the gift He had prepared for us.

We took many walks down the beach chatting and looking for seashells. We had dinner each night at a different restaurant. We sat on the balcony listening to the tide roll in. We laughed sometimes and sat in silence sometimes, because its okay if you don’t have anything to say. I know all this sounds squeemishly romantic  but it was more than that. It was a feeling of security, of lifelong committment, of true lasting love.  I am blessed and feel renewed in my relationship to my husband of almost 31 years. We were fortunate enough to get away from the stress and pressures of every day life which gave us a chance see things differently. And this week I was given a glance into what my future holds and it made me full of thankfulness and joy. To God be the glory great, kind, personal, beautiful things He has done. Amen

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

