A Call To Rest After California


After a wonderful tiring vacation last week I just took this week to recoup and get well. I came come with a horrible cold/ear pain. My ears wouldn’t pop while on the plane and stayed stopped up for two days. Oh did I mention the plane trip home took 12 hours mainly because we spent almost 4 hours sitting on the plane on the runway in Dallas. A mild thunder/lightning storm kept us grounded, hungry and irritable. We were supposed to be home by 4pm and finally got to Hartsfield around 8pm!

Vacation in California however was extraordinary. We went on a road trip up the coast through central and north California. The unspoiled beauty gave me the feeling of touching God’s world the way it was meant to be. This is undoubtedly the most beautiful state I’ve visited. Traveling along the road and seeing the coast on one side while viewing the rolling green hills on the other is a sight to behold. We took around 800 pictures between me, Katie and Sherry.  A special thanks to Don, Sherry and Megan for showing us the best time we’ve had in a long time.

This week I cancelled almost everything on my schedule and rested, trying to get over this virus. There really wasn’t much I felt like doing anyway. I guess sometimes we just have to take time to be renewed and revived. I thank God He gave me that time.

Next week I will get back on the band wagon and talk to my friends, go to Bible study and do my volunteer work, take some specific time to write and pay my bills. Life will get back to normal and I will continue on this life journey seeking God’s will and pray He will use me to give some sort of hope to the world around me.

Comments

  1. Juliee, was that ‘mild thunder/lighning storm’ in Dallas the one after the 17 tonadoes had hit in the previous storm? 🙂 The one that brought buckets of rain? I know it is excruating to have to sit on a plane for hours, but a lot better than being in the air during that! 🙂 Glad you made it home safe, had a great vacation and are now reccuperating!

    Love and Blessings,
    ~ Judy ~

    • Judy is was almost a week later when we were on this plane. I just now found out about all those tornados. We were oblivious to all news etc. while in California. We watched no TV or radio.

      yes so much better to be safe than sorry but would have liked to have been offered something to drink or a snack over those 4 hours. We were just unhappy with the airline going and coming home. Thanking God for getting us home safe.

      • I understand! Did you have air conditioning while you were sitting there? They definitely should have offered you snacks and something to drink! The courtesy and kindness seems to be fading a little more each day! I’m just thankful that you all arrived home safely! God is so good! 🙂

  2. Juliee, what that ‘mild thunder/lightning storm’ in Dallas the one after the storm that brought 17 tornadoes to the area? Was it the one that brought buckets of rain to the area and some power outages? Hehehe! I know it is excuriating to have to sit on a non moving plane for hours, but better there than in the sky! 🙂 I am glad you made it home safely, had a great vacation and are reccuperating! Have a wonderful weekend!
    Love and Blessings,
    ~ Judy ~

  3. You must have been very close to us! Did you wave?? Glad you enjoyed a great week. You timed it right — it rained all this past week including a major lightening and thunder storm! I hope you’re feeling better this weekend.

    • Where are you Amy? In California? I’ve met quite a few bloggers and writers lately from California. Makes me wonder what God’s up to.

      The week we were there, no rain! So glad but were really cold alot of the time. I’ll take cold over heat any day. Beautiful place from head to toe.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

