Share Your Pain To Help Others.(Testimony by Pam Lopez)


I’m so glad to be back from vacation. I missed you. But I come back with a testimony sent to me from a dear friend. She has endured so much pain and suffering at the hands of others but God is healing her and using her to help other women who have been through similar life experiences. Welcome Pam Lopez my courageous friend.

I am so thankful that we serve a God that can and will work healing miracles in our lives if we just ask Him because God has done a tremendous healing work in my life.  I was born to a wonderful set of Godly parents who sought to instill Godly values in my life and desired for me to have a relationship with the Lord.  I attended church from the time that I was born and then accepted Jesus into my heart at the age of 6 years old.  I also attended the Christian school that was affiliated with our church so I could receive a Godly Christian education and continue having morals and values instilled in my life.

But, unfortunately I endured many traumatic events in my life at the hands of several individuals.   I was raped and sexually abused by two older male cousins from the time I was 6 years of age until I was 14 years old.  At the age of 8 years old I was raped by a teenage boy in my neighborhood  and also sexually assaulted at a church sponsored event when I was about 9 years of age.  All of these things happened to me, but I lived for many years in complete silence, fear, shame and intense emotional pain.  I never told anyone what happened to me for many years because I believed that it was all my fault and I was completely to blame.

I also had no idea how to stand up for myself and had virtually no self esteem nor a voice to speak out.  Because of this I endured a signficant amount of bullying by a number of my peers.  Fortunately, through the years, I did not turn to drugs, alcohol or promiscuous relationships, but I did allow myself to turn to food.  I became a food addict and gained an enormous amount of weight.  This was my way of stuffing all of my pain and many secrets down deep inside.

After graduating from high school, I left and went away to college.  I decided to go to Liberty University in Lynchburg, Virginia.  It was at this time in my life that God began a healing transformation in my life.  God helped me open up and share with my family about the abuse that I had endured during my childhood.  He began healing all the painful wounds that I had allowed to fester within my soul for such a long time and my Lord continues  healing me emotionally, spiritually and physically even today.  I am finally becoming healthy and God has helped me to heal from the food addiction as well.  Through my healing process, I have been able to lose a tremendous amount of weight.

After going through the healing process, God has given me a passion to speak out and hopefully make a difference in the lives of others that may have endured similar circumstances.  Jn.10:10 says, “Satan comes to steal, kill and destroy, but I (God) have come to give life abundantly.”  I am so thankful that God has restored my soul and is helping me to live the abundant life that He intended for me to have.  I believe abundant life is His ultimate plan for me.  God is good!

Comments

  1. Pam, What a wonderful way to turn what satan has meant for your destruction into something for God’s glory. You will never know how many young ladies and even a few men you will impact by sharing your story of God’s healing and redemption. Bless you!

  2. Fiona Phillip says:

    Thank you Pam for being so transparent. We need more believers like you who are brave enough to share. God’s words say “We have overcome by the word of our testimony and the blood of the lamb. Rev-12:11- and now you are transformed and free to help someone know they can also be as well.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

