For Such A Time As This: Testimony by Holly Watson


I’m so happy to welcome my new friend Holly Watson. I first connected with Holly through Facebook when I read one of her devotionals. Her writing is inspiring and hopeful and you need to visit her blog to really see what I mean. You can visit her place A Deeper Walk With Holly at graceforusdevotional.blogspot.com. Holly is sharing a powerful part of her testimony with us today. Enjoy the wonderful read as you see our God glorified through illness and suffering in her life.

See, I am sending an angel before you to protect you on your journey and lead you safely to the place I have prepared for you. Exodus 23:20

 

I was diagnosed with Environmental Illness in 1995. For over 10 years of my life I ate 2 foods, lived in a controlled environment, was isolated from my family and friends, sought out hundreds of doctors for treatment and eventually ended up in a hospital in Mexico. I was so ill that I was confined to a two room apartment to live out my existence. Isolated, alone and suffering, I spent years of my life afflicted, uncertain and fearful. I was imprisoned by this terrible malady that had taken control of my life, all that I had known, and my hopes for a future. Each day I would desperately cry out for God to save me and hope that He hadn’t forgotten me. Terrified, exasperated and gripping tightly onto God’s promises, this was my life.

 

As I reflect back on those years, I vividly remember walking through some very dark and hopeless days. With every turn for help, I hit a dead end. With every cry for reprieve, my days got even harder. No doctor could comprehend my mysterious illness. No hospital understood how to help me. I was rushed to the emergency room, by ambulance, too many times to count, and no one knew what to do with me. On the days when confusion overwhelmed me, I wrestled with feelings of being abandoned. All I could do was sit in disbelief, as I watched this terrible disease deteriorate my body. I felt alone and desperate, overcome by feelings of having to fend for myself, while existing in my valley of Baca (weeping) Psalm 86:4. My faith was definitely being tested, as I lived out my days in my furnace of affliction (Isaiah 48:10). 

 

As difficult as my days were, and as baffled as I continued to be, I found strength to hold fast to my faith and cling to the promises of God. The word of God was life, where life was diminishing. It was breath, when the air I was breathing was toxic. And it was food, on the days I only drank water. God’s word became my primary source of nourishment, not only for my soul, but for my body. I began to memorize scripture and I saturated myself with every word, every worship song, every book, and every teaching tape that I had or could get a hold of. I immersed myself in everything God!  I did all that I knew I could physically do… and then I stood! I stood strong in my faith believing, that He who promised was faithful (Hebrews 10:23). I stood….and I  stood…and I stood …and I  stood…and I stood…for what turned out to be years, believing that God wouldn’t give me more than I could handle (Psalm 22).

As I continued to live out my God appointed life of fasting, isolation and solitude I learned, heard and saw more than I ever thought possible in my walk with God. I learned to hear God like I’d never heard Him before. I began to see God like I’d never seen Him before. And I began to have a relationship with God that I never knew existed.  Day after day, with my bible on my head or clutching God’s word to my bosom, I would ask God to fill me with the knowledge of who He was, to saturate my being with more and more of His presence and power, and to strengthen me so I would not only live to see another day, but that I would live to glorify Him in EVERY way. God was my sustainer, He was my strong tower, and He was my ever present help in times of trouble. He is Jehovah Rophi, the God my healer.

 

Jehovah Rophi, comforted me as the tears streamed down my face when I felt all hope was lost. He reassured me that this way was the prepared way, and He spoke of the work He had already ordained for me to do (Isaiah 30:21).  My God, was a God who stayed with me when everyone else had walked away, given up on me or chosen to leave because they didn’t know what to do. As everyone around me moved on with their lives, and I was left in my place of confinement and misery, Jehovah Rophi spoke His word over me confirming that He had a plan and a purpose for my life. Despite my suffering, He spoke of a time yet to come and of a journey that was necessary, that I might comfort all who were afflicted, bring healing to the hurting and hope to the oppressed. My God was there with me when nobody else was… or could be. Physically I might have been deteriorating, but spiritually I was soaring!  

 

As I look at myself today, and as my healing process continues, I am amazed at how far I’ve come. But, not only do I see how far I’ve come, I see a God who remained faithful and ever-present throughout my wilderness. I see a God who already knew the end from the beginning, who knew every step I would take, every obstacle I would face, every heartache and every disappointment that I would come up against… for more than 10 years. That same God, who was working out His plan despite what my eyes could see, what my mind could comprehend or what my circumstances told me, delivered me and brought me out into my abundant place (Psalm 66:12).

 

In Exodus 23:20, The Lord says, “See I am sending an angel before you to protect you on your journey and lead you safely to the place I have prepared for you.”  This scripture signifies all that I have walked through over these past 15 years. God sent His angel before me and has been preparing the way for me, even starting back to the first days of my illness. He brought me here, to this place. He’s walked with me on my journey and now, I believe, He will use my story to touch the lives of the hurting. God protected me. He led me safely. He watched over me…for such a time as this (Esther 4:14).

 

 No matter where you find yourself today or how difficult and hopeless your circumstances might be…the Lord is near. He is in your midst. He is guiding your steps. He is leading the way. He’s already sent your angel ahead of you protecting your journey. He will get you to your prepared place! I’m living proof of it. Selah

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Incredible testimony that resonates in my spirit – resting in His grace and praising God for being so real – thank you

  2. This was an amazing testimony! This lifted me up this morning! Holly, God just loves it when we tell of His beautiful love for us….even in our darkest times. Thanks for sharing this with us and may God Bless you in your continued healing! Your Sister-N-Christ, Linda

Trackbacks

  1. […] For Such A Time As This: Testimony by Holly Watson (gracefullwomen.com) Share this:TumblrFacebookStumbleUponPinterestLinkedInTwitterRedditEmailDiggPrintDeliciousLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] For Such A Time As This: Testimony by Holly Watson (gracefullwomen.com) […]

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

