God’s Grace In My Great Loss by Kristina Haury: Part 2


When I read the second part to Kristina’s story and look at this precious picture tears fill my eyes as I am reminded of how great, graceful, precious our God really is to us. But it also thrills my soul to no end at the love He has for us, a love that  knows no bounds. A love that answers the prayers of a hurting mother’s heart and a longing daughter’s dreams. Oh how blessed we are to have Jesus. Thank you Kristina for sharing your journey.

Jesus shows up sometimes, you know?  He just walks right in and wipes the smudges off your Spiritual Glasses so you can see.  And that’s exactly what He did for me.  He showed me Isaiah 6:1-8 and impressed on me that I was to memorize the whole passage.  For six months I recited it while I was drying my hair, washing dishes, driving, etc.  But I could not discern what exactly He had for me in those verses.  Verse 8 is where God asks Isaiah “who will go for us?  Whom shall we send?”  And Isaiah replies, “Here am I, send me.”  I figured I was supposed to go on a mission trip…so I signed up!  I thought I would have peace regarding that verse now, but still I felt the constant urging of the Spirit to recite it.

Then one day as I recited verse 7 “see, your guilt is taken away and your sins atoned for” He wiped the smudges off my Spiritual Glasses and I saw the truth! The guilt I was picking up and carrying around every day, my “righteous” guilt was TAKEN AWAY.

Let me just say here, that I felt 172 million times lighter immediately!  I felt instantly like a new creation.  It was like a fog lifted, and a weight came off my shoulders. I imagined I could hear the shackles unbuckling and falling on the floor with a loud clang!  I knew in that moment Amazing Grace.  I knew Him….and who I am because of His grace: chosen, holy, and dearly loved.  Glory!!!!

About a month later, walking with my head held high because of the Redeeming Blood of Jesus, I had a Bible Study homework assignment called The Dare Prayer.  It asked me to think about what I wasn’t praying about.  What I was holding back or keeping from God in prayer.  My first reaction was that I prayed about everything…I mean, I had a newfound freedom and was head over heels in love with my Savior.  I surely wasn’t holding anything back.

The Holy Spirit showed me what it was.

Although I had prayed for 20 years for my daughter given up for adoption, I had not prayed about my heart’s desire: to know her.  I was simply afraid His answer might be, “No.”

My precious friend who was leading that Bible Study offered to pray for me what I could not pray.  She got down on my living room floor and boldly prayed that God would reunite me with my daughter and that we would be a family.

I thought lightning was going to strike my coffee table as she prayed!  She spoke the words that were in my heart, but unspeakable.  It was amazing and scary – and there it was, at the feet of Jesus.  I was left to await His answer.

It came at 10:00 on a random Saturday night as I sat in my bed watching Animal Planet.  I answered the phone, and the voice on the other end of the line said, “I think I am your daughter.”  In that instant, Jesus turned my world upside down.  He gave me the desire of my heart, and I will never stop praising Him for it.

I would love to have time to tell you every single thing that has happened since that moment.  The moment that left me speechless, but my heart shouting, “Jesus, what have you just done for me??????”  Never have I felt so adored.  He came down, poured out overwhelming blessing, and gave me a kiss.  It was the God of the Universe, the Creator, saying, “I see you. I love you, and you are precious in My sight.”

My daughter and I are indeed a family now.  God answered every prayer I lifted up over her 20 years:  she has a mother who is wise, strong, loving, and essentially perfect.  He gave her a father who cherishes her and lights up whenever she walks in the room, and cries when he talks about her.  She loves Jesus.  She has been afforded opportunities every girl dreams about.  And we are all a family.

I would never have imagined this – the plan God had in mind all along.  For that reason one of my favorite verses is Ephesians 3:20-21 which says, “Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly, abundantly beyond all that we ask or think according to the power at work within us, to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever, Amen.”

This June, four years after our first phone conversation (which lasted 1.5 hours!), I will attend my daughter’s wedding.  My three sons and my niece will be in the wedding party.  If I stop and think about it, I just fall all to pieces.  And I stand in awe of God’s mercy and grace.

He is able to do exceedingly, abundantly beyond all you could ask or think.  He still moves stones.  He brings darkness to light.  He still creates beauty from ashes.  I pray you will see His hand moving in your life and be amazed in the presence of the Almighty God!

Comments

  1. As I type this I’m crying and rejoicing for the power and glory of our Great and Awesome God. To God be the Glory for great things He has done. Such a very beautiful story. Very, very inspiring. Loved reading this. Bless you!

  2. Blessings to you. This gave me chills.

  3. Just got back and catching up — loved this! Beautiful story and so encouraging in so many ways!

  4. Anonymous says:

    How wonderful to hear more about Kristina’s story! So many more details than the IN TOUCH Magazine gave. Thank you, Kristina for sharing your experiences!
    Ann

Trackbacks

  1. […] And if you are a women with regrets, you have to read this – Kristina Haury trusted God in a very difficult situation and shares how He responded. Get out your tissue — she posts on Gracefull Women: God’s Grace in My Great Loss Part One and Part Two. […]

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

