Maybe It’s Not Your Storm by Tammy Durrence


Today I want to welcome back my sweet friend Tammy Durrence. She ministers to women from all walks of life and has a family of her own. Tammy shares with us a message from God’s heart to hers. Get comfy and see if you can relate…

          Sometimes, especially as women, we find ourselves caught up in everything going on around us. We are such emotional creatures that every problem we hear about becomes our problem. All this on top of the defiant teenager, rambunctious preschoolers, sick family members, gas prices, and chores around the house. Before we know it, we find ourselves in front of the mirror, asking “Why me God? What have I done? Why do I have to go through all of this? I stay in Your Word. I follow you. I teach my children to follow you. What am I doing wrong, that I have to go through all these rough seas?”

We need to stop and think, “Maybe this is not my storm.” This is something really hard to fathom. We live in a “me” society. It has become so natural to think that whatever is going on is because of “me”, whether it be good or bad. However, that is not always the case.

Let’s take a look at Noah. Genesis 6:8-9 tells us Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord. It also tells us he was a righteous man, blameless among people and that he walked with God. It seems Noah was doing things right. It was other people that were making wrong decisions.

So here Noah is trying his best to live for God. All of the sudden, God tells him one day, “Noah, I want you to build a boat.” As you know this is no sail boat to go across the lake. This boat is huge! It is 1 ½ times the size of a football field, 45 feet high, three decks, with one door and one window! Can you imagine? What do you think Noah’s initial response was? I know mine would be, “Wait a minute God, here I am trying to do my best, while these clowns are over here doing whatever they want. Shouldn’t You be giving them the work to do? That’s a lot of hard work You’re asking me to do. They are disobeying You, shouldn’t they do to labor?”

Noah was completely obedient and did as God told him. He built the ark, filled it with the animals and filled it with the food needed to feed himself, his family and all the animals. That’s a lot of preparation for a storm that was coming. A storm that was not even a result of anything he had done wrong.

After everything was completed Noah entered the ark with his family and God sealed the door shut. They were on the boat for over 365 days! Wow! It rained for 40 days and 40 nights. I imagine that during the time of the rain Noah could not even crack the one window in the ark . Can you imagine the odor in that boat? No ventilation and a humid environment. Maybe the animals were moaning to get off the boat. The noise was probably pretty loud. I wonder how Noah felt?

So what about you? Do you find yourself trying to stay obedient, yet confined to an uncomfortable place in your life? How’s the odor? Do you find yourself always stepping over piles, and dodging streams, while constantly having to feed those around you? Do you find yourself asking, “What is it all for? What have I done but I try to stay obedient. Why do I have to go through this storm?”

There was evil, sin, and disobedience in the hearts of those around Noah before the flood. Noah survived the storm that was meant for those people because of his obedience. The storm Noah went through was not because of anything he had done. It was not about him. It was about God being able to use Noah’s obedience to bring back God’s knowledge and greatness to a people who had forgotten Him.

So, maybe it’s not your storm. Is it possible God is carrying you through a storm in your life right now so others can see Him in you? Does God want you to be obedient so those who have forgotten Him will be reminded of who He is? What if you were so obedient that God chose you to increase His kingdom? What a privilege that would be!

If you’d like to receive regular posts from GraceFull Women go to our Home page and subscribe by email or RSS Feed. Join us in this place where grace abounds, women meet and love overflows.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Guest blogger, Tammy Durrence posits that Maybe It’s Not Your Storm on Gracefull Woman […]

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

