The Resolution by Darlene Minshew


Darlene is a friend and ministry partner. I so love to read her heart because she’s honest and real. This post is another example of her willing spirit to follow God. Read about her New Year’s resolution and see how it compares to yours. Thanks Darlene for sharing with us today.

My New Year’s Resolution

This year’s resolution is to allow God to show me my worth in and through Him.  And to allow my heavenly Father to change me from the inside out. I want to let Him teach me to see and love through His eyes.

Over the years I have placed unrealistic resolutions on myself. I thought I could achieve things on my own. I had unrealistic goals for weight loss, unrealistic goals for relationships, unrealistic goals for jobs or school and unrealistic expectations of  future accomplishments. All this based solely on me and what I could do.

My failure in these goals lies in my trust of self. Not allowing God to make changes in me according to His desire and will. My values and standards were based on the worldly influences such as the magazines I read, the television shows I watched, and the judgmental things I heard people say about me and others. I even compared myself to other women in the church and the work they did in the ministry.

Through this year’s resolution God may take me somewhere I may not wish to go. He may show me things about myself I’ve tried to hide, heal some old wounds I have been hanging onto. He could even make me forgive someone I don’t want to or befriend someone I don’t like. God will be taking me out of my comfort zone, but it will be for my benefit and His glory.

My desire is to grow closer to Him, and to become the person He wants me to be. Yes, this will require more of my time and more time spent in His word, and prayer. But in the end if I am truly His, everything He could ask from me already belongs to Him. It became His the moment I accepted His gift of Salvation. “So, my brothers and sisters, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to Him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit for God.” Romans 7:3-5

“I mean that we have been saved by grace through believing. You did not save yourselves; it was a gift from God. It was not the result of your own efforts, so you cannot brag about it. God has made us His. In Christ Jesus, God made us to do good works, which God planned in advance for us to live our lives doing.” Ephesians 2:8-12.  When God saved us He already planned the works He would have us do. He knew in advance what He wanted  to accomplish through us in His name for His glory.

All things through Christ can be accomplished, if we allow Him to work through and in us. “ I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

As you make your plans for the New Year, I implore you to pray, “God not my will but yours be done.” Use the Father’s prayer as an example found in the book of Luke Chapter 11:2. “So He said to them, “When you pray, say: Our Father in heaven, Hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done. On earth as it is in heaven.”

Step out of your comfort zone and let God show you His desires for you.

What is your New Years Resolution?

Comments

  1. liveandlaughwithjesus says:

    ahh I have plenty! One is to read the bible from cover to cover. Another is to blog regularly. you seem like a wonderful women in christ 🙂 I just started please let me know what you think!
    http://liveandlaughwithjesus.wordpress.com/

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

