Grace Beyond Measure by Nicole Querido


I’m so happy today to introduce my friend and kindred spirit Nicole Querido. She is a writer and teacher who seeks to live a life of surrender to God, whose redeeming power and love has transformed her life. In coming to know Christ in her thirties, Nicole’s life story became a testimony of His amazing grace. Nicole’s heart’s desire is to use her passion for the Lord and her gift of writing to share the hope of Christ with women around the world. Nicole Querido writes about her daily journey with Christ on Christian Women Online (www.christianwomenonline.net). Welcome her with me with open arms and love on her with some comments too.

“One of the criminals who hung there hurled insults at him: “Aren’t you the Messiah? Save yourself and us!” But the other criminal rebuked him. “Don’t you fear God,” he said, “since you are under the same sentence?  We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve. But this man has done nothing wrong.”

Then he said, “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom.”

Jesus answered him, “Truly I tell you, today you will be with me in paradise.”” Luke 23:39-43

 

As Jesus walked on this planet, he was a picture of the love and grace of God.  He would speak to and fellowship with people who others would not dare to be seen with, and even some who would be considered so low in society, that they would hardly even be considered human.  He found value in God’s people, and showed compassion and brought healing to many.  People were drawn to Him.  Some came to Him only for what He could do for them, but there were others who came because deep in their hearts they understood their need for a Saviour and their vast need for grace.

I know my need for a Saviour.  I have known the depravity of a life lived without God, and I know all too well, the things I have done.  I am so unworthy of the love of Christ and yet He died for me.  I see Him hanging there on the cross, knowing that it is weight of my sin (and yours) that is holding Him there. The amazing thing is that it was not by force that He became the perfect Lamb of God for me.  He chose to.  He willingly laid his life down. That day, the darkest day in all of history, an incomprehensible love was shown, and grace was poured out beyond measure, not only for me, but for all who would call on His Name.

There was one who called upon His name to be saved, in the midst of the suffering of our Jesus.   There were three crosses on Calvary that dreadful day, and the conversation between these three men, as they endured unbearable pain, brings out many emotions in me.  The two criminals react to Jesus in opposite ways.  While one was hurling insults, the other was recognizing Jesus as the Son of God.  One mocked Him, while the other sought His mercy.  Both were guilty and were hanging there justly punished for their crimes, but the one who humbled himself before the bloodied King of Kings, in the dying moments of his life on this planet came face-to-face with grace.

I am so thankful for what Jesus did for us.   I am guilty too, and deserve nothing but death, but instead I have been welcomed in to the family of God.  “To all who receive Him, who call upon His name, He gave the right to become children of God.”  (John 1:12)  I, being as much a criminal as the one hanging beside my Saviour on Calvary, am now a daughter of the King.  That kind of love is beyond my ability to grasp, but this I know, Jesus saw me as worth dying for, and He feels the same way about you too dear sister.  If you have not yet called upon His Name will you do it today?  Will you receive the grace, our Saviour so freely gives?

As Jesus died on the cross, His final words were “It is finished.” (John 19:30)  In speaking them, He committed His Spirit to God, and enabled God to look at me and say, “You are forgiven.”  These words bring tears to my eyes, and cause me to fall to my knees in worship.

My Heavenly Father, thank you for giving us Your Son, so that whoever believes in Him can be saved.  I pray Father that Your message of grace will touch the lives of many who need to hear it today.  Thank You Lord, for the unspeakable pain and suffering You endured so that I could be forgiven.  Renew in me the joy of my Salvation so I can be a living testimony of Your love and grace.  You gave Your all for me, and I willingly give my all for You.  In Your Mighty and Saving Name, amen.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

