Who Does Your Tongue Serve? by Darlene Minshew


Darlene Minshew is back today with a word from the Word. Upon reading this I have to admit I felt a sting. Not of judgement from the Holy Spirit but it was one of those nudges that said, ” You know what Julie we’ve got some work to do.” And I’m thankful Christ even wants to help me overcome sin of the tongue. He could just let me lie in it, wallow in it, use my tongue for destruction, etc. But no God loves me too much to leave me in such a state of mind.  I am a new creation and should be living as one.  If I let Him He will live in and through me and that makes Him awesome and me special. Thanks Darlene my friend for stepping on my tongue.

 There are 133 verses in the Bible using the word tongue(s). The book of Proverbs 6:16-19 tells us
there are six things the Lord Hates, haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush to evil, a false witness who pours out lies and a person who stirs up conflict in the community. Three of the six involve the tongue: lying, false witness, and the stirring up of conflict. These things our Father Hates. Our gracious, loving, forgiving Father hates these things, He detest them. So I ask you who does your tongue serve? God the Father or the Devil?

Proverbs 18:21 tells us the tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat
its fruit. What kind of fruit do you produce? Fruit that adds to the kingdom or fruit that causes destruction?

In James 3:6-8 we are told that the tongue is a fire, it corrupts the whole body, sets the course of one’s life and is itself set on fire by hell and that no human being can tame the tongue. Have you allowed Jesus to take control of your tongue or does it still work for the enemy?

 Evil use of the tongue:

Psalm 52:2

You who practice deceit, your tongue plots destruction; it is like a sharpened razor.

Jeremiah 9:8

Their tongue is a deadly arrow; it speaks deceitfully. With their mouths they all speak cordially
to their neighbors, but in their hearts they set traps for them.

 Good use of the tongue:

Psalm 66:17

I cried out to him with my mouth; his praise was on my tongue.

Psalm 119:172

May my tongue sing of your word, for all your commands are righteous.

“The Spirit of the LORD spoke through me; his word was on my tongue.

We are instructed through the word of God to guard our tongues:

Proverbs 21:23

Those who guard their mouths and their tongues keep themselves from calamity.

Proverbs 17:28

Even fools are thought wise if they keep silent, and discerning if they hold their tongues.

The wise tongue verses the unwise tongue:

Proverbs 12:18

The words of the reckless pierce like swords, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.

Proverbs 12:19

Truthful lips endure forever, but a lying tongue lasts only a moment.

The righteous tongue:

 Zephaniah 3:13

They will do no wrong; they will tell no lies. A deceitful tongue will not be found in their mouths. They will eat and lie down and no one will make them afraid.

Dear Lord, Please help me to have a wise and faithful tongue. To remember all my answers should come from You. Help me to use my tongue for Your glory and praise. May it be like choice silver, may I use it to proclaim Your righteousness and show others Your love. May I never use it as a weapon to hurt others or cause them harm. May I have no fear when destruction comes, because You can save me from the lying lips and deceitful tongues of others. May I always remember to cry out to You in my time of need. May I remember that before a word is on my tongue You Lord, know it completely. That when I try to be deceitful I am only deceiving myself for You see the truth. May my tongue be soothing, my lips as sweet as honey, and may I speak in wisdom, love and knowledge. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Who Does Your Tongue Serve? by Darlene Minshew […]

  2. […] Who Does Your Tongue Serve? by Darlene Minshew (gracefullwomen.com) […]

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

