Why Do Bad Things Happen and How Do I Respond?


 

 

I got some news last night that has thrown me off guard. I wasn’t expecting it. My first response was, “What can I do? How can I fix this?” Even today after sleeping on it I’m still a bit unclear. But one thing I know my God is faithful. He is faithful to provide the way through this trial. He is faithful to give wisdom and guidance. He is faithful to comfort, hold and love us through this time. He is faithful to help us see that we are victors not victims.

Through all of life many things are uncertain, circumstances sway, people fail, and we doubt. But Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever! Nothing about Him is uncertain, He never sways in His promises and He has never nor will He ever fail us in any way. In fact my doubt is only overcome by the faith Jesus has placed in me. Everything is about this
wonderful Savior.

Life comes at us hard sometimes. We look around and see others living what appear to be easy lives and we wonder why not me? I’ve thought about this, prayed about it, and been on my face looking for answers. I needed answers when disease and death struck, when depression paralyzed, when the bottom fell out, when I got news of family abuse, when suicide traumatized and the list goes on and on.

And God, the God of compassion and comfort, the Father of my heart, the lover of my soul, the lifter of my head, He answered me over and over again.

In this world people have free will and because of that many choose to sin and wreak havoc. Sin reigns here because this is a fallen world and since this world is fallen it is filled with toxins, poisons and environmental disasters that cause awful disease. And because sin runs rampant we bring the consequences of sin upon ourselves and others. We reap what we sow.  We are killing ourselves, our relationships and our families all on our own. Satan tempts us to fall to his wiles and because we aren’t allowing Jesus to be strong in us we fall to his temptations thus bringing pain and suffering.  Natural disasters such as earthquakes, hurricanes, tsunamis and tornados destroy land, property and life. The Bible tells us believers  will have troubles, a true
statement. We will be persecuted for our faith. 2 Timothy 3:12 Christians are tortured daily because they choose to stand for Christ.

So it is not a mystery as to why bad things happen it’s in the accepting of and dealing with the bad things that comes the problem. What I have come to know as truth is Romans 8:28, “For all things work for the good of those who are called according to His purpose…” He will always bring glory to Himself out of every awful situation that  makes its way into my life. Maybe I won’t see the results in every situation but I believe when God promises, He fulfills.

The only thing that has brought me through to the other side of pain is His love, His abounding grace, His power through His Spirit, His people and His faith in me giving me the perseverance to go on in this life. God says He will never leave nor forsake me and even when circumstances look different He has proven to me I am not without Him…. ever.

My life is a testimony of praise to my God and Savior Jesus Christ. I am thankful His love never stops or changes no matter how many times I doubt or question the circumstances around me.

 

Comments

  1. Linda Dunaway says:

    Julie….I needed to hear everything you just wrote. Bad things will always be around the corner for each of us. I have learned the hard way…the way we respond is the question.
    He said that in this world we would have troubles…..but he gave us a way to respond…through meditating on His word and waiting for His answer. I really enjoyed hearing what God put on your heart about this. Thanks for sharing!

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

