The Real Me by Jennifer Hembree


I’m welcoming once again my friend and the women’s minister from Eagles Landing First Baptist Church, Jennifer Hembree. I met Jennifer years ago as we attended church together. Since that time we have taught Bible studies and ministered to the women of our church and community together. This woman can celebrate and carries joy wherever she goes. I hope you will grab a cup of coffee this morning and enjoy a devotional with Jennifer.

God's Word leads us to the truth

Have you ever wondered why certain things have happened to you? Sometimes we look at the lives of other women and wish we could exchange ours for theirs. The truth is we all matter. We were created with a purpose.

It’s hard to believe that we matter when tragedy and heartache invade our lives. The storms of life
can bring us to the end of ourselves. But, the good news is our Heavenly Father is waiting with open arms to extend His unconditional love, unyielding mercy, and amazing grace to us in the middle of life’s circumstances.

A few years ago, I created what I call my “suffering journal” that I used when I was going through
a dark, painful time in my life. In it, I wrote my thoughts and prayers as well as Scriptures that gave me the strength, hope, and courage to rise up and live victoriously.

I’ve shared things from my journey with God with other women. Sharing with them seemed to help them in their point of need or crisis. The truth is in Christ we have everything we will ever need. Once we understand who we are in Him and the truth from God’s Word about our identity, we begin living as daughters of the King. We stop living according to what others around us think.

As His daughter (one who has accepted Christ as my Savior):

  • · I am a child of God (John 1:12; Romans 8:16)
  • · I have been redeemed, forgiven, and am a recipient of God’s lavish grace (Ephesians 1:7-8)
  • · I am a new creation; the old has gone (II Corinthians 5:17)
  • · I am God’s workmanship, created in Christ to do His work that He planned beforehand that I should do (Ephesians 2:10)
  • · I am an heir of God and fellow heir with Christ (Romans 8:17)
  • · I am forever free from condemnation (Romans 8:1)
  • · I have been freed from sin’s power over me (Romans 6:7)
  • · I am a temple (home) of God; His Spirit (His life) lives in me (I Corinthians 3:16; 6:19)
  • · I have been bought with a price; I am not my own; I belong to God (I Corinthians 6:19,20)
  • · God will supply all my needs (Philippians 4:19)
  • · His peace guards my heart and my mind (Philippians 4:7).
  • · I have been crucified with Christ, and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me. The life I am now living is Christ’s life (Galatians 2:20)
  • · I have been justified (completely forgiven and made righteous) and am at peace with God (Romans 5:1; Romans 3:24)
  • · I have been made complete in Christ (Colossians 2:10)

When you’re going through a trial in your life, remember that God promises the Crown of Life to
those who love Him. On our own, we’ll be miserable, confused, frustrated, worried, and depressed. He’s the only One who can give us peace in the midst of the storm. Live proudly that He has chosen you to be a part of the family of God and His power will be unleashed through your life!

Don’t forget to pop over at my other blog Pics, Prayers and PomPoms and read one way God has promoted togetherness in my marriage. It might make you laugh.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

