Nasty Note Nailed to Church In Cumming Georgia


I don’t know why I was surprised when I read this article about someone nailing a nasty note to a church door in Cumming. I believe some in our country have forgotten or never learned how to show grace to each other and this incidence is just more evidence of that fact.

Apparently the pastor of Antioch Baptist Church had gone to a neighboring community and left flyers taped on the brick mailboxes and tacked to the wooden mailboxes.  This seems harmless and was probably his attempt to invite people to church and/or share the Good News.

Someone took great offence to it and went to the church, NAILED the flyer to the church door with a note that read, “I don’t like holes in my things either.” Wow! I can only imagine what would make someone this angry. I can speculate all day long and never come up with anything to justify such an act. I can’t judge the person who did this because I have no idea what frame of mind he/she was in or the motive of heart. What I do know is that the act itself was hurtful to a pastor and his congregation who did have right motives for giving out the flyers.

I can’t help but think maybe this person has been hurt by the church or feels God has betrayed him or her. Then again because of the way it was worded it sorta sounds like an elderly person who just doesn’t want his “things” touched.

I just found this interesting and really thought it was uncalled for but who am I to judge?

On the other hand think about the pastor who did the “dirty” deed. I’m sure he meant no harm. As a matter of fact he was probably trying to help the people in his community.

I hope he doesn’t get discouraged by this act. May he find the courage to keep extending his hand in grace even in persecution. Yes this was a form of persecution, different from what happens in China and other foreign places but persecution nonetheless.

What do you have to say about this incident?

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

