Chick-fil-a Boycotted? Are You Kidding Me?


Chick-fil-A

Image via Wikipedia

I received a forward email today telling me I should eat at Chick-fil-a this week. Duh. I do every week. I love the place. Then it went on with an article that described a boycott going on by progressive activists against Chick-fil-a.

According to the articles I read this afternoon this was back in January. However, I began writing a blog about it before I discovered it was 6 months ago, so you have to read it cause I took the time to write it.

I don’t know if you are aware of it but there is a boycott/smear campaign going on about Chick-fil-a. It seems one of its establishments had the nerve to donate some sandwiches and brownies to a marriage seminar that happens to oppose same-sex marriage.

Since this donation was brought to  light  political activists have launched a campaign against one of my all-time favorite restaurants. This is what I have to say about it. If I boycotted every business in America that donated items (brownies for heaven’s sake) to someone else who did not agree with my political, personal or religious convictions then I suppose I’d just sit at home and save all my money. Think about it this way if we all did this our economy would eventually
die because we’d all stay home, saving our money instead of feeding it back into the governmental system.
As you can read in this article by political analyst Michelle Malkin  here Chick-fil-a employees 50,000 people and makes upwards of 2 billion a year. Why would anybody want to mess with such a good thing in this day and time when jobs are so scarce? This billion dollar company is an asset to our country and talk of a boycott based on a donation of brownies and sandwiches to a seminar that does not support the beliefs of other people is just kinda crazy.

Why do I like chick-fil-a?  The food is fantastic and has been since I was a little girl.  It’s owned by one of the most genuine, giving, charitable, family’s in the business world today The Cathy’s. And I feel respected when I go through the drive thru window unlike most fast food restaurants I’ve experienced.

Just to be frank this business was founded and is owned by Mr. Cathy and his son both who believe strongly in biblical principles and in their point of view part of that belief is that marriage is between a man and a woman. That being said they do not in any way discriminate against any one for their own personal beliefs about marriage or anything else. You can read an article by Dan Cathy here than talks about this. And if you want to read the other side of the story you can go here and find out more

I support Chick-fil-a and will NEVER stop eating there. I do not care if one of their establishments did take brownies to a marriage seminar that does not support same-sex marriage. How about you? Any thoughts?

Comments

  1. I am sick and tired of people wanting the world to embrace their sins. Regardless of how we may feel or who we may know, the bible is fact.
    It is a sorry state of affairs that a Christian company should even have to address standing on moral values. I have Christian friends who want to boycott companies like Home Depot for going in the other direction. Hello! How many Christians do you think work in these companies. Love the sinners, hate the sin. Pray, Pray, and Pray somemore. Real change only comes from God.

  2. Darlene,
    I personally think using sin as a means to display hateful ignorance is hypocritical coming from a woman. The bible may have a few phrases against homosexuality. However It has just as many, if not more, about woman. These tend not to be as cryptic as the anti homosexual verses. How they are the possession of their father until they marry. Then they become the possession of the husband. If he were to die, then the husbands brother is responsible. The bible says woman are untruthful and should not be trusted. I would suggest actually reading the entire bible yourself.
    Julie,
    I see by the picture in your blog that you have short hair, that is a sin, Dangling earrings, make up, any form of adornments is a sin too. By the way slavery is also permitted by the bible, as long as the slave is from a different state than the owner. So like ordering from Chick-Fil-A the hypocrisy of picking and choosing parts of the Bible are acceptable to so many people. If you found a company that supports or endorses, by any means, laws to enforce the verses against woman, or fought to bring back slavery would you spend your money there?

    • Micheal thanks for reading. Yes I do have short hair and I wear earrings, makeup and even shorts in the summer. I don’t think you’ll find the word sin in my post. I also think there is a huge difference between serving brownies and sandwiches at a conference and bringing back slavery. Which is ridiculous. My beliefs do conflict with other businesses however I continue to spend my money. Although your ideas of comparison are interesting I am thankful that here in America, where I have the priviledge to live, women are NOT discriminated against as they are in some other countries.

      As far as the Bible goes I do not pick and choose what I believe. If you want to get a real feel for my beliefs you can check out my up and running blog http://gracefullwomen.com. I think you’ll find I’m really not the judgemental witch you’d like to portray me to be.

      • Juliee,
        Thanks for responding, I apologize if it seemed I was trying to portray you as anything but a fellow thinking human being. I know that you didn’t mention sin in your article, The sin was mentioned by Darlene the first commenter. I do not agree with the anti woman verses I mentioned. Personally I do not, and could not financially support any organization that would help endorse, whether by a donation of food, or one of money, making any person a second class citizen, simply for a bit of free advertising. My intention was not to call you a sinner, or portray you as a judgmental witch, I was attempting to personalize the idea behind the boycott sentiment for you. I have not attended a church in years. However i am a spiritual person and believe in a god that loves everyone, no matter what, after all he/she/it made every one of us to be who we are. Once again I apologize if I offended you,

        • Absolutely not offended Micheal. I can see your point of view but just don’t adhere to it at this time in my life. I too believe in a God who created all people and loves every one of them. I think that’s a place we can stand together. Have a good night.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

