Does A Middle Aged Woman Need To Reinvent Herself?


 

 

The words reinvent yourself are very common these days. I’ve used them myself when describing what’s going on in my life. But when seriously thinking about it something came to me. Why should I reinvent myself? Who I am is who I am and God made me who I am. Does that make sense?

It just took me a few years to get to this place (46 to be exact) but Ecclesiastes 3:1 tells us, “There is a time for everything and a season for every activity under the heaven.” So maybe I’ve just reached this time and season of my life. It’s not reinventing, it’s releasing who I am. This excites me because I know there’s more to come and I’m so thankful God Himself created me to be this woman that I am, the way I am.

I was in a conversation with some other women over at (in) courage and Caryn at Disposable Women  quoted from a devotional she had read recently, ” Lord help me to see myself the way you see me. No matter how BEAUTIFUL that may be. Amen.” I immediately fell in love with this quote and prayed it for myself. I urge you to do the same because whether you believe it or not you are BEAUTIFUL  inside and out. Believe truth.

Is reinvention necessary? No, but release yourself to the Father allowing Him to set you on your individual journey. On this road you’ll discover your place in this world which is to expand His kingdom. Relax, release and run with Jesus.

Comments

  1. Julie,
    The beauty about being our age is that we have finally settled (and maybe accepted) the woman God made us to be. My article, Three Things I Don’t Know About Reinventing Myself, speaks to earthly reinvention, prodded by forces of the world. Through my earthly process, I’m seeing new connections to my spiritual self–learning how to use the gifts and talents He so firmly planted in me. I like how we covered both perspectives. CS

  2. I was thinking a lot about this recently. I so agree that who we are when fully alive and free in Christ is SO much better than what we could “invent” for ourselves apart from Him!

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

