The Star Chart


The prompt for this week from The Red Dress Club is to dig to find what from your childhood you still know by heart.

 

 

 

As a little girl I went to church with my mom and brother. Daddy never went because he said he’d be a hypocrite if he did. I didn’t  understand what he meant by that then but I get it now. I only wish I could have had the chance to tell him the church is full of hypocrites and he would have fit in perfectly. Anyway, we attended a small Methodist church almost every Sunday morning.

My favorite part of the day was Sunday School because I knew there was a reward coming if I had done all the “right” things during the week. Our teacher Mrs. Cowan gave us stars for Bible reading and memorization, prayer, bringing our Bibles to church and attending class. The star chart hung on the wall for all to see and I made sure I had as many stars as all the others.

Bible verse memorization was a biggy to Mrs. Cowan and sometimes if  the passage we memorized was a long one we received 2 stars! I wanted 2 stars very badly. Somehow I think the need to be number one on the star chart relates to my need to please everyone. But I’ll leave that for another post on another day.

The day came when we were all to recite Psalm 23, all of it! I had studied and studied until I knew every word. As I sat in my seat waiting  for my turn I became nervous, thinking I might forget the words. This would not be acceptable, I had to get this right, after all I needed those 2 stars to keep up with my friend and competitor Tammy.

My time came to stand before the class and recite the verses: The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want, He maketh me lie down in green pastures, He leadeth me besides still waters …. I can only remember making one mistake and Mrs. Cowan helped me over the hump. How proud I was that day as I walked over to the chart and placed 2 new stars beside my name.

Over the years Psalm 23 has been a comfort to me in many situations as it has remained in my mind and heart. I thank my Sunday School teacher from all those years ago for seeing to it that I hid God’s Word in my heart. I’m sure she knew that in my life those verses would help me through many tough times.

Today I teach women’s Bible studies and find it a privilege to encourage them to memorize Scripture so that in those tough times they can find comfort in the words of God.

Comments

  1. Now that is a lovely thing to have memorized as a kid, since it is actually useful as an adult! Unlike the words to “Old Lady mack” or the tunes on “Sesame Street”.
    Good job.
    Came from TRDC.

  2. I think this is such a great story! You never know how useful things are going to be at another time in our lives.

  3. I was just quoting this Psalm with a friend who is waiting for some medical test results this morning! It is a good thing to memorize indeed!

  4. Psalm 23 is one of my favorites too, along with The Lord’s Prayer which I learned in Spanish originally.

    I love that something you memorized so long ago can still bring you peace and comfort. Maybe no gold stars, but hey…

    The detail about your competition with Tammy was a nice touch too. So like a child to want to please. Very sweet post.

  5. beautiful post….beautiful nostalgic feel attached to it…

  6. We memorized Bible verses growing up, and I still remember so many of the verses. And you are so right—it’s wonderful to have them on hand when the situation arises.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

