Are You Afraid Of Heaven?


A storm cloud up above my house.

I’m in California this week and loving every minute. Except for those minutes I miss being at home. The old saying is true, “there’s no place like home.”

Today I’m reposting one of my favorite’s about heaven. Hope you’ll look forward to going “home” too after reading it.

I used to be afraid of going to heaven. But now that it holds so much treasure for me I’m not as afraid as before. In fact I kind of look forward to going because some of the people I love most are there. It has changed my perspective of heaven, from a far away foreign place to a sweet home place. My grandparents, mother-in-law, daddy, mama and a miscarried baby are all in heaven.

I envision this home place to be a large gray wooden and stone house with a big rocking chair front porch. Everyone is sitting outside visiting and drinking sweet iced tea except my 2 grandmothers and my mother-in-law Marie. They are inside cooking up a big meal of fried chicken, cornbread, mashed potatoes, fresh green beans and a variety of desserts. My daddy is reading the newspaper, glasses pulled down low on his nose and mama and I sit close by talking about every day things. Paw-paw is sitting back rocking in the rocking chair and Papa is holding my beautiful baby boy.

The smell of the food drifts out of the open windows and our noses perk up. We all make our way to a large wooden table made for a large family. The table is loaded with all sorts of wonderful foods, candles lit in the middle and the best china and silverware. As I look around I feel a sense of contentment, fulfillment, and joy like never before. At the head of the table sits my most beautiful, loving Savior Jesus Christ. He is there with us in the home place, He made the home place, He is the reason there is a home place.

I realize my vision of heaven is not quite like the golden streets, and mansions described in the Bible but for me that gray home, which is my grandparent’s home place, is as close to a mansion as I can imagine.

I do get homesick for my permanent home sometimes now and then because I miss my loved ones so. But I thank God I have the hope of knowing I will see them again. Do you get homesicK? How do you envision heaven?

Comments

  1. I agree! I read a book on heaven once that described heaven more like earth than something we cannot relate to (though the perfection will be something beyond our wildest imagination). So I, too, look forward to eternity where God has crafted a place for me that will be more amazing than any dream. And not only that, HE will be there constantly! OH JOY!!

  2. I have loved books about heaven such as Heaven is for Real about a wee boy going to heaven {Todd Burpo]. I envision my mansion being made up of my favourite parts of all the homes I have loved living in. My beloved pets will be there.I see myself having time to learn to do perfectly crafts that I have attempted on earth but have not been good at. I see lots of conversations with the many GREATS of our faith, especially the ones whose books I have read. Like you, i see rockers on front porches, and lots of “visiting” going on. As well, I hear songs of worship from every nation of the world, and I know the music is going to be amazing. What’s best of all though, will be one on one time with JESUS; dancing through meadows; sitting by the water and chatting. I can’t wait to get there- but have learnt that it is worth not being in too much of a hurry because I so want to hear Him say” well done, good and faithful servant”- I want to be sure I’ve completed all the tasks assigned to me before time began.
    Lovely to find your blog- have just subscribed. Blessings from New Zealand.

    • Mary thank you so much for subscribing. I hope you are blessed and encouraged through my support t and that of other ladies. Yes you are so right we have been put here to do God’s will for our lives and its important to live out what He’s called us to do.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

