I’m In California


I’m in California visiting my sister-in-law and her husband. I’ve been here since about 12:30 pm and already have had a great time. First thing off the plane we went to a Cajun festival in Simi Valley where we met up with some of their friends. The festival was filled with music, food and booths with lots of stuff calling my name. The thing that called the loudest was a funnel cake, which I answered ever so quickly and enjoyed every bite.

The Train did not come with me on this trip. He had to work but he sent me because he knew how much I’ve wanted to get away from things. While at the airport he even upgraded my ticket to first class. My baby loves me and I love him more than he will ever know.

Right now I am in their RV writing this blog while they are inside a friend’s house in the hot tub. I am just too tired to do anything else so I’m about to call it a night.

California is a beautiful state. The weather is in the 60’s and the mountainous view is gorgeous. I’ll be checking out Venice Beach tomorrow and the stars walk of fame. Pictures to come later.

I need to give you some sort of something to think about right? Well how about this? I flew on a plane for the first time today by myself and then found my way to baggage claim. Sounds easy to you doesn’t it? For me this is a great big step of confidence in myself and God. Myself for believing I could find my way alone and God for believing He was faithful to get me to where I was going.

I’ve not been away from The Train this long in 28 years. I am kind of nervous about that. What will he do without me?! I guess he’ll survive while I try to make it here with two of my favorite folks.

How are you spreading your wings and flying? What have you done lately in confidence?

Comments

  1. Pam Lopez says:

    Hey Julie,
    I hope you have a wonderful visit while you are in California!! I visited a college friend out there a few years back and one of the greatest things that we did was took a drive up the coast of CA to Carmel & Pebble Beach…If you can do that, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND! It will be a trip you’ll NEVER forget!
    It is ABSOLUTELY beautiful..!! You will see dolphins swimming off the coast and watch the seals out on the rocks…You WON’T regret it! Can’t wait to hear ALL about it! Have a safe trip & Love you~ Pam

    • Well they just gor back from a trip down the coast so I miised that one this year maybe next year. We are going to Santa Barbara to see his mother and sister today, spend the night then go to their mountaintop hime the rest of the week. Possible ventruing to Venice beach on the way and Lake Arrowhead which their home over looks. I mean how am I ever gonna suffer through all this!

  2. You are in CA and I am not! LOL! Well, enjoy it well, I know you will. I am going to spend the week catching up on blog reading, including yours. 🙂

  3. I love hearing about couples who are still madly in love with each other after so many years together. We’ve been married for just short of 40 years, and it keeps getting sweeter. I hate being away from him, too, but I have no choice if I want to visit the kids or my best friends. And good for you for flying by yourself! Air travel is not easy or fun.

  4. YAY! I’m so proud of you. Tell me everything. I would love to visit Cali. I can’t wait to see all the photos.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

