Lazyboy, Lola and My Laptop


This was written from a prompt given by The Red Dress Club  about Slothfulness.

Although I look around and see all that needs to be done I continue to sit here in this chair, this big, brown, leather Lazyboy. Beside me is my companion Lola, a 53 pound English Bulldog, and resting comfortably on my wrapped up legs is my link to the world, my laptop. The three of us are best pals. We spend many hours together here in the Lazyboy with a cup of coffee, diet coke and a variety of snacks. The thoughts come freely here and flow from mind and heart to fingers. God is here too. I talk, He listens and then He talks and I listen.

The dishes need to be washed, laundry is waiting to be folded, closets are calling to be organized, and worn baseboards need to be touched up, but I keep sitting here in the Lazyboy.

My body molds so well and Lola does too, just perfect right up against my leg. My lower back doesn’t hurt right now, and the lighting is great here in this space created just for me. I am kept warm by my mother’s blue and white cotton  blanket. It’s a bit worn now but that makes it all the more precious. I find it’s like having a piece of her right here with me, wrapping me up in her love, such sweet memories.  These things keep me coming back to this place I love.

Maybe you’d call this slothful, and it is by definition. But I call it comforting, inviting, rewarding and restful. My time in the Lazyboy with Lola and my laptop is time I wouldn’t trade for any pile of dishes, load of laundry or day of painting baseboards.

However, I do live in reality and I am aware The Train will be home by 6:00pm. By that time the Lazyboy will be empty, Lola will be in her dog bed asleep again, laptop will be sleeping also and I will be making SOMETHING? for dinner.

Comments

  1. Ha! I can totally relate to this. How did it get to be 5:00? Gotta make dinner and pick up the house.

  2. i love those special spaces we create that comfort and inspire. since moving, i’ve struggled to find that perfect place again. until then, at least i still have a favorite blanket that provides some of those good feelings you described 🙂

  3. I am jealous of your little cozy set up. And the dishes can be done tomorrow.

  4. Great description, I feel like being there. My favorite lines:

    “The thoughts come freely here and flow from mind and heart to fingers. God is here too. I talk, He listens and then He talks and I listen.”

  5. Mine is the kitchen table. We can hardly eat at it for all the papers, books, trinkets and knick-nacks associated with web surfing. I should probably be in bed, as I missed dinner and it’s now 4 am.
    Here, hear sistah! Long live the quiet places!

  6. The dishes and laundry always seem to find there way back no matter how many times you get rid of them.

  7. I love this. I am so bad at sloth. I couldn’t even do the post. And after reading yours, I realized, well, I guess that when I stop folding laundry and watch America’s Next Top Model for one hour a week, that’s the way I sloth. I cram all my sloth into one week. 😉 I compartmentalize it.

    Not very slothy, I guess.

    But I’m working on it.

    Thank for visiting my blog. You have a good thing going on here. Glad to meet you! 😉

  8. Do you have a camera in my house? Sounds alot like my space, recliner and all. I know exactly what you mean and here is where I write…

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

