Is Mother’s Day A Happy Day For You?


I’m feeling a little melancholy and have been for a few days. My family keeps asking what’s bothering me but I just can’t put my finger on it. However Hound said,” I think it has something to do with Mother’s Day coming up. You always get kinda sad then.” I guess subconsciously my mind goes to a sad place without me realizing it because honestly I can’t come up with a reason I would feel down.

My moma died about 5 1/2 years ago of ALS (Lou Gehrig’s Disease). It was a long drawn out terrible way to go. We watched her suffer and have bits and pieces of her life taken away little by little. Then in the end I had to make the decision to take her off life support. This was one of the hardest times in my life.

Giving up the woman who was my best friend and mother left me with an emptiness that I thought could never be filled. It’s like having your right arm ripped off. I spend the next 4 years trying to come to terms with the loss. Through counseling, much prayer, and allowing God to be enough for me I am finally at a point where I can move on.

Still Mother’s Day isn’t one of my most favorite days but I am learning to make it a day to be thankful for the mother I was given. To be thankful for the time I did have with her and try not to think about what could have been. She left us when she was 61 years old and sometimes I wonder what she would have thought about all the life changes our family has and is going through. But in accepting her death moving past the “what ifs” has been one of the healing factors.

Mother’s Day is special for me however because my husband and children celebrate ME! And I am humbled that they love me enough to want to make this a great day.

Is Mother’s Day a day you look forward to or is it a hard day for you?

Comments

  1. Pam Lopez says:

    I must say that I am very thankful that I still have my mom here. But, our family just suffered a sad loss. My grandmother(my mom’s mother), just passed away a few days ago. My grandmother was living in a local assisted living facility and was suffering from Parkinsons Disease. But, during this time that I have been un-employed, I was helping my mom by going in the afternoons to help my grandmother get ready for bed, eat dinner and various other tasks. I had been doing that for almost a year.
    But, about a week ago, my grandmother fell and suffered an aneurysm. She never regained consciousness and lived exactly one more week to the day of her injury. My grandmother was almost like another mother to me. It has been very hard to come to terms with the loss. I know it will take time. The loss was recent. But, I know this Mothers Day will be difficult for all of us. Our mothers and grandmothers will always be very near and dear to our hearts. God Bless you all this Mothers Day!!

  2. I also am lucky to still have my mother with me. She’s 81 and though she is okay healthwise, she does have a drug-resistant lung ailment that will only get worse. She’s incredibly brave and is the main caregiver for my 85 year-old dad who uses a walker and is legally blind. So I do still enjoy celebrating Mother’s Day with her and Dad, but it’s bittersweet.
    We lost the only grandmother I ever knew about 20 years ago. I was sad for a long, long, time about her dementia and death. In the last couple of years I have been able to look at photos of her with happiness for the good times and her loving, giving spirit. She never had an easy life, living through 2 world wars and the Great Depression, working as a cook for wealthy families. She inspires me to be brave and thankful for my many blessings.
    I guess a lot of us have mixed feelings about Mother’s Day!

    • So true Melanie about the mixed feelings. Some years i’m ok and others it’s very hard. Right now I’m looking forward to being with my family but you never know what tomorrow will bring.

  3. I am so sorry about your mother – you are blessed by those wonderful memories, though. I miss my grandmother:) She was my rock – I grew up with her. Mother’s Day is tricky. Sometimes it feels like it’s for everyone but me:) A little sweet and a little sour! Happy Mother’s Day! Glad you are celebrated!

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

