What is Abundant Life?


What Is Abundant Life?

John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

Abundant life is the American dream. Wealth, material goods, fame and power. However this is the life the thief can steal, killand destroy. It is not a life lived for eternity.

True abundant life is given to us by Jesus Christ. This life is lived in peace, joy, rest, love,  and following Him. It is not wrapped up in money and power. Sometimes wealth does come with the abundant life but it is gladly used however the Father leads.

My Christian life used to be so frustrating because I felt like a failure so many times. I set out with goals to pray for 30 minutes a day, read my Bible at least that long if not longer, witness to strangers, at which I failed miserably, and kick my bad habit one more time. It was a defeated life, not an abundant life because I just couldn’t do what I set out to do.

In reality what was happening was I had allowed the enemy to convince me that I had so much to do in order to make God happy with me. I struggled day in and day out and then I would give up for a while and live defeated. This led to feelings of guilt and shame because of the sin I let in my life and because I was too weak to keep on the godly path.

Examining the verse a little closer it reads, “I (Jesus) have come that they may have life, and have it more abundantly.”  Who has come to give abundant life? Julie? Well that’s the way I lived it out. It was as if I was trying to give myself a wonderful life and in doing so failed over and over again. It is not humanly possible.

Who came to give me and you abundant life? Jesus! He is the One who can do this in us. It’s His life in and through us that produces peace, joy, love, forgiveness, wisdom, discernment, etc. I can’t manifest any of that on my own.

What’s my part in all this? I must surrender to Him. Allow Jesus to live life through me. After all as we saw yesterday He is your life, not just a part of your life. Romans 12:1-2 tells us to “offer … well how about you look that one up on your own and see what it says.

Live life fully through Him. And if you haven’t subscribed please do and I will send the devos directly to your email. It’s easy and quick, just click the Subscribe button, fill in your email and your set.

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

