There are Friends and Then There Is That FRIEND



I read a post about a woman and a friend she had become reacquainted with after 20 years. They were best friends in high school but lost touch until they found each other again on Facebook. This made me think about a friend of mine. Although I didn’t know her in high school I did meet her years ago at church.

One Sunday about 15 years ago a skinny dark-haired young woman walked in my Sunday School class with her mother and sat down. Her mother had just gone through a bout with breast cancer so the young woman was emotional and she cried much of the time that day. This endeared her to me right from the start.

Kristi became my right hand girl in the SS class and took care of all the admin. stuff, which I hated and she loved. It seemed we had kindred spirits right from the start.

I’ll try to explain this friendship. Kristi is very organized and detailed, I am scatter brained and a “live in the moment” girl. Everything is black and white to her, there is no in between, me I see both sides. If I want to know the truth with no mix of words, she tells me. I on the other hand will eventually get to the truth but hate so much to hurt her feelings the truth may sound like I’m singing a lullaby. This is a special combo because we really compliment each other. She helps me see things clearly and I help her see another side of the story.

The thing about Kristi that I adore most is that she accepts me for me. I don’t feel judged by her even on my worst day. You know those friends you are comfortable enough with to express how you REALLY feel, well that’s how it is with us. I’ve laughed til my belly aches, cried til my mascara is gone and talked for 5 hours at a time and still have more to say with my girl Kristi.

Oh I forgot to mention another most important part of our friendship. We discuss my favorite book for hours and hours. We love it and take it apart when we’re together. I love that I can share something this special with her, God’s Word. I don’t think I have ever met anyone so hungry to understand the Bible as my friend.

She’s witty too. Read her blog Light From The Hill and find out about the light side of life.

There are friends that come and friends that go but there is that FRIEND that always stays. I love you Kristi. God blessed me when He sent you into my classroom 15 years ago.

Comments

  1. WOW! Thank you so much for such sweet words. I had the biggest smile on my face the entire time! I have to agree with you that our friendship is amazing. You do help me see the other side – that mercy thing that you have I DO NOT have but after a good conversation I can see your view. It is funny how opposite we are yet it works, perfectly! You are a great friend. Thank you for believing in me all these years. I love you too!

  2. Beautiful! You and Kristi are blessed! I pray I will be THAT friend again. The evils of corporate life made me not-such-a-great-friend for awhile, because friendship takes time and who has time when you work 60 hours a week? :-/ Looking forward to better balance. Also retirement… 😉

  3. Pam Lopez says:

    All I can say is that I am sooo extremely blessed and thankful for BOTH of you!!
    I also am so thankful for the dear friend(Amy) that God brought into my life my last year in college. She’s about the only person in my life that can “tell me the truth..” We also have had thousands of times that we’ve laughed until we’ve cried and had many heart-to-hearts over the years…..I am so extremely blessed!!
    But, I am so blessed and thankful for the both of you in my life as well….Love you guys more than you will ever know! Pam

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

