Grace Full Women Know Forgiving Themselves Is Not An Issue


The Grace Full Woman has finally realized that she can’t forgive herself. Have you ever thought you’d hear such a thing? Certainly it’s necessary to forgive yourself before you can live in the fullness of God’s grace, right?

Well I’ve never found Scripture to back that up, have you? I’ve heard it from other women, teachers, read it in magazines, and watched it discussed on Oprah but I’ve not read it in the Bible.

However I have struggled with it. For years I could accept God’s forgiveness of my past sins but I felt I could never forgive myself. This was one of the biggest hurdles I had to overcome before I could move on to a grace full life. This belief held me back and though I prayed for help I could never let go of the fact that I did not deserve forgiveness, so I just couldn’t give it to myself.

In reality I don’t think I accepted that God had completely forgiven me. I think I believed I still owed Him something for the sins of the past and so I would go on making it up to Him the rest of my life. Part of that being never forgiving myself. The truth is God’s forgiveness is so complete that forgiving myself is not even an issue. Jesus Christ has already done it all for me. There is nothing left for me to forgive because my past has been wiped clean by the blood Jesus Christ.

Trying to forgive myself is like trying to give myself salvation. It can’t be done. Once I truly believed and accepted God’s complete forgiveness of my sins, past, present and future, Colossians 2:13-14 then I was free to know I didn’t have to forgive something that had already been  wiped clean from my life. Yes there were going to be left over consequences that I would experience but forgiving myself need not be one of those consequences.

To hold this over my own head when God had forgiven me was in a way prideful. Think about it, who was I to live out of the identity of a no good sinner full of shame and guilt when my Father in heaven had made me a new creation 2 Corinthians 5:17. He says I’m fully forgiven, a saint, righteous in His sight, His beloved, and more than a conqueror, who am I to say different? Who are you to say different about yourself?

Yes the grace full woman knows she’s forgiven and she knows it’s enough.

Comments

  1. Beautiful. I needed this fresh and new perspective. Thank you, Julie!

  2. Amen sister! I can’t add anything more to that. Great job explaining the Truth!!

  3. wonderful post

  4. I am so relieved to meet anheotr Christian like you! I’m new at this church going thing and the thing that always made me weary was the culture of condemnation I felt from other Christians before I was one. I wanted Jesus but didn’t want his people, if you knw what I mean. I’m learning to love around that but I got to say, I like your kind of people Thanks for being so real. (I betchya hear that a lot).

  5. The one and only time I had to really fovrgie someone was the new minister of my previous church because he tore the church apart instead of bringing us together. After struggling with not knowing what to do I did finally turn it over to God’s hands. One day I heard a voice say to me Gladys, you know what you need to do and you need to do it right now . I wrote my letter of withdrawal from the church, the board and the Stephen Ministry program and explained to the minister exactly why I was leaving. I have moved on to a church that I am content going to and the Associate Pastor (and I think the world of her) has moved into my neigborhood. Yes, I have fovrgien and moved on.

  6. I had a supervisor years ago who joneid our team two years after I did. Almost imediately she began spreading lies and rumors about myself and a co worker. These were very hurtful times and some days it was hard to even go into work. My sweet husband would remind me that my character had been shown by my actions in the two previous years and that her character was being shown right away. I had a choice to make, I could leave and my reptuation might always be in question, or I could lift my head up, go to work and continue doing my job. I chose to keep the job. It was awfully hard at times, her mean spiritedness was palpable, but I did it. About a year later she was released from her job for performance issues. I chose to move on a few months later, but I am ever grateful for the lesson in perseverance. I relate this story regularly to young people abiout how a job isn’t always fun and sometimes you have to work through rough things not just run away from them. Somewhere in that year I found forgiveness for her, but more importantly I found strength for myself.

  7. every relationship whtiin my family life there has been a time I have had to work through horrible things that have been done to me or said to me. I have learned through Christ and by neccessity forgiveness is the only way you can heal and move forward in your life. It does’nt even matter if the other person knows you forgive them it does’nt matter if they care that you forgive them, but to your well being and your mental and spiritual life it means everything. I don’t know how God does it but if you really want to forgive someone and go one with your life God can and will do that with you. Not for you but with you!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Grace Full Women Know Forgiving Themselves Is Not An Issue (gracefullwomen.com) […]

  2. […] Grace Full Women Know Forgiving Themselves Is Not An Issue (gracefullwomen.com) […]

  3. […] Grace Full Women Know Forgiving Themselves Is Not An Issue (gracefullwomen.com) […]

  4. […] Grace Full Women Know Forgiving Themselves Is Not An Issue (gracefullwomen.com) […]

  5. […] Women Know Forgiving Themselves Is Not An Issue http://gracefullwomen.com/2011/04/13/grace-full-women-know-forgiving-themselves-is-not-an-issue/ Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

