I Wouldn’t Want To Be You or Brangelina.


What if you could change your identity? Let’s say the slate was wiped clean and you could trade places with anyone you wanted, who would it be? Where would you live and what would you be doing different right now? What if God gave you the choice to change lives with someone else? (I say God because if it could be done it could only be done by Him.) Who would you make the exchange with?

These questions maybe very easy to answer for some and difficult for others. Right now my answer is different from what it would have been years ago. There was a time when life was harried and I was a lot less confident in myself that I would have exchanged places with anyone who didn’t have the name “mommy” or “Julie”. I would have gone to live alone on a desert island just for some peace and quiet from life’s stress, strain and pain.

However, right now I wouldn’t want to trade places with anyone else. I like my identity as it is and the more I find out about the woman God made me to be the more I like me. From what I can see so far He is doing a good thing in me. He gives my life an abundance of love, security, peace, joy, laughter, relationships, and wisdom and purpose. I’ve never been as whole and fulfilled as I am right now. Only He can get the credit for that. Oh I’d love to say that I’ve done all this changing of mind, soul and spirit by myself but let’s give credit where credit is due.

What it boils down to is this, I wouldn’t want to trade places with Anne Graham Lotz (Billy Graham’s daughter), Oprah Winfrey, Angelina Jolie with hunky Brad Pitt, or even you. I love my life. Sure I have days that things seem dark and dreary but the sun does rise and I do get up and start anew. Life with Jesus is right even when life seems to go wrong.

So let’s get back to the beginning. What if you could trade places with anyone else in this world, would you? Why or why not?

Comments

  1. This is a FANTASTIC post! I love it and I feel the same way and my heart sings with joy when I read your words!

  2. Wow, what a question!

    I really don’t think I would. I like my life with all of its ups and downs because it’s MY life. I made it–with some failures, but also with a lot of successes, and they’ve all made me the person I am today. And I’ve finally realized that the person I am today isn’t half bad!

    • Melissa that’s the way it is supposed to be! I believe eventually we come to the conclusion we are who we are and it’s ok to be “ok” with who we are. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I am the person I’m supposed to be! I don’t have all the kinks worked out. I don’t know it all but I am ME! And if I do say so myself “I LOVE ME!”

  4. Pam Lopez says:

    Thank you for your post Julie!! I’m really enjoying reading them. But, I must say that I totally agree! There was a time for many years that I would have “changed places” with just about anyone. There was a time that I had so much “pain” and hurt in my life.
    But, by God’s grace, He has taught me so much and also has completely healed my heart. I am so thankful for all that he has brough me through that I wouldn’t want to change places with anyone either.
    God has given me a “voice” to finally be able to share with others and I have such a desire to be a “light” to others and hopefully help other hurting women that have experienced similar situations in their lives.
    I am so thankful for where God has me now and I have so much to be thankful for. I wouldn’t change places or “identities” with anyone!!

  5. loved ittttttttttttttttttttt!! awesome!! good, bad , ugly .. would not want to change anything!!

  6. So glad you’ve found this peaceful place in your life and share it with others. I’ve been off-roading spiritually for much of my life, but I’ve just recently stopped telling God what I think my life should be and instead started living where God has placed me. Such a relief. Such freedom!

    • There is freedom in knowing my true identity! I love being free to be the woman I was created to be. Living where God has placed you is the only real secure place to live. Glad you have found your freedom.

  7. Michelle says:

    Aww. This entry really made me smile. I love your keen insight Julie! ♥

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

