My Ex-Life



Life is full of surprises, isn’t it? One day I looked in the mirror and saw a young mother of two, and then before I could count the gray hairs, the kids were grown and I had to squint to see myself in the mirror.  As I move through the different phases of my life, I notice plenty of changes. It seems my thinking is a little foggy, my walk is slower, I forget more often, I sing louder, but I love harder and deeper. Some of these changes have been more difficult than others, but I have discovered some life strategies that have helped me transition more easily. Let me share what I call the keys to my ex-life.

Ex-plore. Explore the world near you. My daughter has decided I need “culture,” so she took me to the Atlanta High Museum of Art to see the Louve exhibit.  Ah, a small taste of Italy right here in Atlanta. My world is expanding, and there’s so much more to see.

Explore the world abroad. My husband and I went to Cancun, Mexico for vacation this summer.  I snorkeled for the first time, and since I cannot swim, this was a great accomplishment for me and my life jacket.

Explore the world at home. I volunteer in a small poverty-stricken town near my home. Driving through the streets of this town, I feel a sense of hopelessness. However, as I am helping a few people possibly move beyond poverty, I see a glimmer of hope in my world.

Ex-hale. We spend so many years being everything to everyone. There comes a time when we need to just sit back and breathe… just breathe. Sit on the front porch with a cup of coffee, take a long slow walk, or read the book that’s still waiting to have its pages turned.

I’ve always wanted to take the time to go through my attic. I love antiques and my attic is full of both my grandmother’s and mother’s things. The next time I exhale, I will be spending the day in my attic with many stacked boxes and many more precious memories.

Exchange. Sometimes, to move out of the “stuck” places in life we need to make some exchanges. Exchange  unforgiveness for forgiveness, anxiety for peace, hate for love, busyness for taking time, I can’t for I can, I won’t for I will, yes for no and no for yes.

It was a real challenge for me to exchange anxiety for peace, but it was essential for my sanity.  After caring for my mother for two years until her death, I was robbed of security and peace. Anxiety set in as I felt that at any moment someone else would be taken from me. Finally, I felt so miserable, depressed and afraid—I had to make the choice to exchange peace for anxiety. It took time, the help of a counselor and my faith in God but the exchange did take place.

There is healing in the exchanged life. What do you need to exchange? Think about it. Haven’t you put it off long enough? You know what it is and I bet it has held you back from having a full life. Isn’t it time to make the exchange?

© Copyright Written by Julie Moore

Comments

  1. loved your post… first para almost made me teary..and then as i progressed i felt so so so happy …. beautiful!!!

  2. everything happens for a reason …. i am glad i found you 🙂

  3. I have an “exhale” day coming up and I can’t wait. I’m tempted to spend the day rushing around doing activities, but I think I’m just going to sit in the grass eating ice cream instead. And breathe…

I really, really want to know what you're thinking so leave a comment.

